Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

fluid structure interraction and piezoelectric interfaces

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone,

I am a student of Grenoble INP currently on my master's. We are trying to realize a project with my group and are using COMSOL to simulate the behavior of a micropump. Out micropump is somewhat irregular i'd say though. It consists of a lower chip on which channels are patterned but the channels themselves are not continuous. Every so often the channel is lost (not patterned ). right above this another plate of material is placed in perfect contact with the patterned substrate. On the upper surface of this upper chip we place 3 circular disks of PZT positioned exactly on top of the "channel holders". When voltage is applied on top of the PZT disks, they deform (upwards) thus creating a semisphere volume right below, and opening a path to the fluid to pass from one side of the channel to the other.