Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Moving items relative to each other

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,
I am a beginner user, and I was wondering if anyone could help with my problem. I am trying to calculate electrostatic forces between objects, as one is moving relative to another. Must I create a new frame for each step by redrawing the objects with shifted positions or is there a way to automate object displacement? Thank you
Anna

8 Replies Last Post 2013年4月14日 GMT-4 13:58

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010年3月3日 GMT-5 13:22
Hi,

It can be helpful if you draw a scheme of your model.
Are you using moving mesh application mode (ALE)? in this case you don't need to care about recreating the frames.
I guess that the motion of your objects is relative to the calculated force?

Cheers,
Hi, It can be helpful if you draw a scheme of your model. Are you using moving mesh application mode (ALE)? in this case you don't need to care about recreating the frames. I guess that the motion of your objects is relative to the calculated force? Cheers,

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010年3月3日 GMT-5 13:29
Thanks for your help! Actually, I'm trying to calculate the electrostatic force in the z direction on an AFM tip (approximating it as a cone) as it is scanned over a sample in the x direction, so the motion is just a constant displacement / frame, and not correlated to the force. I wasn't sure how to do that with ALE, my only idea was to redraw each frame.
Thanks!