Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Time step in time dependent study

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, I am very new to COMSOL or any kind of FEM simulation software.

I need a very fine time step to solve a structural dynamics - wave propagation problem in time domain. It is computing with range(0,1e-8,1), but when I go for range(0,1e-9,1) it says, "OUT OF MEMORY" Is this problem related to my system or it is a limitation of COMSOL?

I am using i7-12700K 4.46 GHz CPU with 32 GB RAM. What are the possible solution to this? Kindly help.

Thanks & Regards

2 Replies Last Post 2023年5月24日 GMT-4 13:18
Dave Greve Certified Consultant

Posted: 10 months ago 2023年5月24日 GMT-4 12:03

By default Comsol stores the solution at each time step, where the "solution" means u,v,w for each mesh element.

I think you will find that 1E9 multiplied by the number of mesh elements multiplied by 3 is more than your hard disk size.

I suggest you explain what you are trying to do, post your model, and ask for suggestions.

By the way expecting that a time-dependent solution will neither diverge or see numerical damping for > 1e9 iterations is...very optimistic.

By default Comsol stores the solution at each time step, where the "solution" means u,v,w for each mesh element. I think you will find that 1E9 multiplied by the number of mesh elements multiplied by 3 is more than your hard disk size. I suggest you explain what you are trying to do, post your model, and ask for suggestions. By the way expecting that a time-dependent solution will neither diverge or see numerical damping for > 1e9 iterations is...very optimistic.

Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 10 months ago 2023年5月24日 GMT-4 13:18

Hello Himanshu,