Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

The penetration of ac electric field through the dielectric film

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello~
I am studying a subject about the the penetration of the ac electric field through the dielectric film (PDMS) by adjusting the frequency to find a cuf-off frequency. I used the AC/DC model_Quasi-Static, Electric and set the ac pontential as v*sin(2*pi*f*t). However, the distribution of the electric field did not change as the frequency is varying. Have anyone done the similar subject before, could you please share your experinces?

Thanks.

5 Replies Last Post 2012年7月25日 GMT-4 00:57
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2012年5月24日 GMT-4 01:02
Hi

you should decide between the time series with amplitudes explicitely written as v*sin(2*pi*f*t) and frequency domain, harmonic developments in omega=2*pi*freq. where you define the frequency (or sweep range) the amplitude and phase, and get amplitude or rms values back.

Check the physics and the equations, the frequency sweep is much computational lighter than a true time series over several periods

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi you should decide between the time series with amplitudes explicitely written as v*sin(2*pi*f*t) and frequency domain, harmonic developments in omega=2*pi*freq. where you define the frequency (or sweep range) the amplitude and phase, and get amplitude or rms values back. Check the physics and the equations, the frequency sweep is much computational lighter than a true time series over several periods -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 2012年5月24日 GMT-4 12:27
Hi Ivar,