Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Capacitance Calculation under the Electric Currents interface of AC/DC Module

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi Everyone,

I am a beginner of Comsol. I need to figure out how to calculate the capacitance and resistance of a Polymer Block at first.

I can easily get the capacitance from the Electrostatic interface under AC/DC Module same as the theoretical calculation C[F] = epsilon[F/m]*epsilonr[1]*A[m^2]/d[m]. My process is as follow:

a. Build a block.
b. Set the materials properties values, the epsilon and epsilonr.
c. Under physics, apply terminal V on the top face and set the bottom as ground.
d. Mesh.
e. Study. And do the global calculation to get the capacitance value.

But, I also need to know the resistance of the block, which I cannot get any useful information from this situation. For the resistance, I want to use the equation, R=V[v] /I [A]. The voltage is already set, but I need know the current, which I cannot get here. My purpose is that I want to compare it with the theoretical calculation value R=L[m]/(A[m^2]*Sigma[s/m].

Therefore, I change my physics to Electric currents interface, where most of parameters setup in Electrostatic are same. After study, I can get the current from the global evaluation. After divided by voltage, I get the resistance same as theoretical calculation value. But there is not capacitance evaluation. I really want to calculate both of them together at the same time, under the same physics interface.

I know that maybe I can use energy method to calculate the capacitance indirectly, W[j]=0.5*C*V^2. But I don't know how to get the energy. I just see that there is Total Power Dissipation Density in the global evaluation, I don't understand it either. Now, I am stuck. Please Help!